NCOLCTL Walton Award

Each year at the annual meeting of the National Council of Less Commonly Taught Languages, the Walton Award is presented to an individual whose career has been distinguished by selfless service and noteworthy contributions to the fostering of less commonly taught language initiatives. This prestigious award was named after the late A. Ronald Walton whose tireless efforts on behalf of less commonly taught languages are remembered fondly by all who knew him.

Previous Walton Award Winners

Year                Recipient

2000               James Alatis

2001               Teresita Ramos

2002               Richard D. Brecht

2003               Laura Janda

2004               Laurel Rasplica Rodd

2005               Dora E. Johnson

2006               Ray T. Clifford & Leonard A Polakiewicz  

2007               Thomas J. Hinnebusch

2008               Erika Gilson

2009               Michael E. Everson

2010               Antonia Y. Schleicher

2011               J David Edwards

2012               Frederick H. Jackson

2013               Hong Gang Jin

2014               Eyamba Bokamba

2015               Catherine Ingold

2016               Scott McGinnis

2017               Laura Kaplan Murray

Conference Sponsors